QUICK LINKS: Board of Health | Clinical Services | Women, Infants & Children Program | Health Education | School Nurse Program | Environmental Health | Public Health Preparedness | Health Department Accreditation | Contacts | Staff Directory

The Jones County Board of Health is the policy-making, rule-making and adjudicatory body for the Jones County Health Department. The Board of Health has the responsibility to protect and promote the health of the public. It has the authority to adopt rules necessary for that purpose.

The Board of Health may adopt a more stringent rule in an area regulated by the Commission for Health Services or the Environmental Management Commission where, in the opinion of the Jones County Board of Health, a more stringent rule is required to protect the public health. Otherwise, the rules of the Commission for Health Services or the rules of the Environmental Management Commission shall prevail over local Board of Health rules.

Board of Health Members

The Board is composed of 11 members that reasonably reflects the population makeup of the county. By law, the 11 members include one physician licensed to practice medicine in the state, one licensed dentist, one licensed optometrist, one licensed veterinarian, one registered nurse, one licensed pharmacist, one county commissioner, one professional engineer, and three representatives of the general public. The members are appointed by the Jones County Board of Commissioners (see link below).

The Board currently has the following vacant positions – Professional Engineer and General Public Member. If you are qualified and interested in filling this position, please contact the Jones County Health Director at 252-448-9111 ext. 3000.

  • Dana Bender, PA – ILO Licensed Physician*
  • Dr. Justin Shimer – Licensed Dentist
  • Shivon Cannon – ILO Licensed Optometrist*
  • Dr. Steve Stelma – Licensed Veterinarian (Board Chair)
  • Beth Meadows, RN – Registered Nurse
  • Candace Andrews, PharmD – Licensed Pharmacist
  • April Aycock – County Commissioner Appointee
  • Rev. Charlie Dunn, Jr. – General Public Member (Board Vice Chair)
  • Ken Dillahunt – General Public Member
  • Vacant – General Public Member
  • Vacant – Professional Engineer

*ILO – In lieu of

Jones County
Health Department

418 Hwy 58 N, Unit C
Trenton, NC 28585

Phone: 252-448-9111

Follow us on Facebook

Director: Adrian Smith

Hours of Operation



Close Search Window