QUICK LINKS: Tax Department Home | Addressing | Real Property | Individual and Business Personal Property | Registered Motor Vehicles | Vehicle Registration Gap Billing | Property Tax Relief | Frequently Asked Questions | Present-Use Value Program | GIS Mapping | Online Tax Payment

Vehicle Registration Notice Changed Effective September 1, 2013

The North Carolina General Assembly has passed a new law to create a combined motor vehicle registration renewal and property tax collection system (Tag & Tax System). If your address is current with the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles, you will receive a Tag & Tax Notice listing both vehicle registration fees and taxes due. Just as in the past, vehicle owners will receive the notice about 60 days prior to their vehicle’s registration expiration.

About North Carolina’s New Tag & Tax System (September 2013)

The North Carolina General Assembly has passed a new law to create a combined motor vehicle registration renewal and property tax collection system (Tag & Tax System). In doing so, the new law transfers the responsibility for motor vehicle tax collection from the 100 counties across North Carolina to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

North Carolina’s new Tag & Tax System has been designed as a convenient way to pay annual vehicle tag renewals and vehicle property taxes.

If your address is current with the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles, you will receive a Tag & Tax Notice listing both vehicle registration fees and taxes due. Just as in the past, vehicle owners will receive the notice about 60 days prior to their vehicle’s registration expiration.

The new Tag & Tax System makes it easier to manage your vehicle registration and taxes. One payment – made either in person – online or by mail – completes the annual tag and tax payments for your vehicle. Now, your annual vehicle inspection, registration renewal and property tax are all due the same month each year.

Visit www.ncdot.gov/dmv and click on Tag and Tax Together for more information. Call 919-814-1779 for questions about registering your vehicle.

How do I appeal?

The valuation of your vehicle may be appealed in the same manner as the valuation of your other property. The burden of proof will remain with you, the taxpayer. By statute, a valuation appeal must be brought within thirty (30) days from the date the notice is prepared. When filing an appeal, you must pay the taxes first. If the value is changed, the taxes will be adjusted as necessary.

Jones County Tax Department

418 Hwy 58 N
Trenton, NC 28585

Mailing Address:
418 Hwy 58 N, Unit E
Trenton, NC 28585

Office Email:
taxadmin@jonescountync.gov

Phone: 252-448-2546
Fax: 252-448-1080

Tax Administrator/Assessor: Fleming Jeffress

Hours of Operation

Monday-Friday
8am-5pm

Close Search Window